Wincham Hall History
"Winundersham" was first mentioned in the Doomsday Book of 1087as belonging to "Dot" a Free Man. However, it soon passed into the hands of Gilbert De Venables following the Norman Conquest.
During the following 1000 years, the estate passed in and out of ownership of the Venables family through inheritance marriage and sale.
The main change came in the mid 15th century when Francis Venables married charles Lee, whose direst descendants also rebuilt the hall at the end of the 19th century.
In 1910 the Hall became a ladies college which attracted girls from all over the world, including West Africa, India and Chile.
Bad times were to follow the second world war. A general lack of interest resulted in hundreds of statley homes being destroyed including the demolition of all but a small part of Wincham Hall, which now forms the centre -piece of the hotel.
The partial demolition has been reversed in recent years. The beautiful old house has been lovingly extended and modernised by its owners to form a charming and comfortable hotel set in six acres of georgeously manicured gardens. The gardens themselves have been totally repalanted creating lawns, patios and walks amongst flowering shrubs and trees which serve as the ideal setting for a wedding !
- Credit Card
- Free Parking
- Parking Facilities
- Golf Course Nearby
- Family Rooms
- Bridal Suite
- Gay Friendly
- Wedding Functions
- Country Retreat